The Department is pleased to announce that the 2017 Sasaki Day Lecturer will be Shannon Nichol, founding partner of GGN (Gustafson Guthrie Nichol). Nichol's designs, including Millennium Park’s Lurie Garden (Chicago, IL), the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Campus (Seattle, WA), and Boston’s North End Parks, are widely recognized for being deeply embedded in their neighborhoods and natural contexts.  

Congratulations to MLA alum Michael Van Valkenburgh and to our alumni and friends at MVVA, Site Design Group, and Living Habitats, who have been selected by the Obama Foundation to design the landscape of the forthcoming Presidential Library and Museum in Jackson Park.

Design research by Prof. Mary Pat McGuire is featured in the Now section of this month's Landscape Architecture Magazine. "Ghosts of Shorelines Past: Mapping the Historic Dunes Hidden Beneath the Surface of Chicago" profiles McGuire's work on Chicago's hydrogeology as a basis for stormwater design. 

Holiday greetings from the Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Illinois! 

"The Day before Finals," a seasonal tale produced by our senior BLA candidates.

Landscape Architecture Graduate students Mamata Guragain, Xiangrong Jiang, Dongying Li, Fatemeh Saedi-Rizi, Rose Schmillen, Tum Suppakittpaisarn, and Architecture graduate student Carlos Flores won the 2016 Honor Award for Collaboration from the American Society of Landscape Architects. Their project, Seeding Sideyards, focused on landscape and well-being in the Belmont-Mantua neighborhood near downtown Philadelphia.

The Design Research Initiative is a collaboration among eight faculty Fellows in the College of Fine and Applied Arts. Operating from different design disciplines, the fellows work to define design research and its role within a research-intensive university. Current fellows have two years to develop their work and to create foundational tools for new and existing faculty to tap into. Their work will create a platform for design research inside and outside the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Congratulations to Prof. M. Elen Deming, who has been elected Vice President for Research for the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF)!

Research being undertaken by Prof. Mary Pat McGuire has been featured in online and print editions of The Architect’s Newspaper:

A new article on—"How Bison Will Take Over Suburban W

For the second year in a row, has rated our Bachelor of Landscape Architecture program #3 in the nation. This ranking is an important recognition of the hard work of our faculty, the outstanding students we attract, and the success of our alumni.